top of page

Castletowbere St. Patrick's day Parade 2022

St. Patrick’s Day Parade 2022

A beautiful day greeted Beara for this years St. Patrick’s day parade. The morning started with Bere Island Community Radio Broadcasting live in the Square and on 100.1 FM.

The lorry load of humanitarian aid bound for Ukraine arrived, at the stage at 10.30am as it got ready to set off on its long journey. Organised by Paul O Shea whose friend and mechanic Vicotor Frolov and his son Andrei and Halyna Andereychuk, Carol Murphy and Paddy O Sullivan wished driver Jason Quirke the best of luck and an emotional farewell. Paul and Victor would like to sincerely thanks everyone for their generosity.

At 2pm Aoife O Neill took to the stage to entertain the crowd as they waited for the parade to get under way.

The floats started to arrive down on the pier at 2.20pm. This is where the fun and last-minute preparations started to happen. The comradery, fun and banter is always lovely and traditional for St. Patrick’s day. As each float tries to win the bragging rights to the Over all winner of the parade.

Members of the IFA, Donal Kelly, John Joe O Sullivan and Donal Dan O Sullivan assigns each float a number.

The stewards, Brendan O Driscoll, Sean Cronin, Vince Murphy, Dominic Tietjen, and Brid Hanley.

Garda Caroline Guest headed off ahead of the parade.

At 3pm the Parade started led by Piper Etienne Baranger

Followed by members of the All Ireland winning team carrying the Tri Colour.

The floats followed and what a huge turn out it was by far the largest parade that has been held in Castletownbere as long as I’m involved over 27 years!!

The Voluntary section was the largest

The Horizon projects with their float of talented musicians, The Boat Club, The Ardgroom men’s group, Beara United FC

Walking Groups;

The Firebrigade, Castletownbere Coast Gurard, and RNLI

Business section

Dursey Boat Trips, Beara Boat Tours,

Senan O Connor, Sarah O Connor, Jim O Connor of ventage Point video

Commercial Group

Castletownbere Fishermen’s Co op


Youth Groups

What a display from this category!! Huge work and effort goes in to this.


Cahermore National School, Bere Island National School and Castletownbere National Schools and Castletownbere Gaa, and Adrigole Gaa

U6’s Eyeries Playgroup

U18 Beara Community School All Ireland Winners


Liam Sheehan

A group of vintage cars also participated & Dave & Stevie Spathaky